Life Lessons From Post Grad (my life, not the movie)

So, I haven’t officially posted anything on social media, but I have been offered and started training for my dream job post college… and I am so stinkin’ excited. So, young grasshoppers, here are the little nuggets of wisdom I have chosen to share with you today. Brought to you with toddler and tiaras, because why not.

THINGS I’VE LEARNED AS AN ADULT


…Career wise:

career

1) If there is a tornado the day before your job interview, plan your route accordingly.

2) Look up good questions to ask at the end of an interview, it really makes a difference.

3) Give it your all, and I mean your all. I got my new job after applying to literally hundreds of places since january and jumping through extensive hoops to land my position as I had to prove I was qualified. I didn’t take “no” for an answer.

4) GPS can be your best friend or your worst enemy while finding places for the first time. (I had this problem for interviews and also because my new company requires me to drive around a lot)

5) Before you get a job it seems like everyone and anyone is asking you about your employment status, like, people you don’t even know. Once you get one, it reverses and you start telling the cashier at marshalls, the lady washing her hands next to you in the bathroom, and random people on the street. I GOT A JOB POST COLLEGE AND I’M PROUD.

dance

…Post college:

1) The thing I miss about being a fake adult was naps in the middle of the day, for no particular reason other than being tired. I MISS NAPS SO MUCH.

Toddlers-and-Tiaras-Crying

2) You will probably have no idea where you will be living a year from now. housing wise. Better get used to uncertainty.

3) You will bounce between work hard/play hard and I MUST SAVE EVERY PENNY FOR MY WEDDING, KIDS, AND RETIREMENT. ….at least I do.

cheese dip

4) You will start experiencing confusion over those who are older than you when you realize the age gap is smaller than it used to be. Do you call them Mrs/Ms/Mr? Their name? Are they your peers or elders? HOW DO YOU ADDRESS THESE PEOPLE!? Also, perhaps more concerning, I AM 8 YEARS AWAY FROM BEING 30.

okayy

…Relationship wise:

1) The first time you see the first guy you thought you loved it will be nothing like you thought it would. You won’t see each other at the same time and raise a hand and give a small wave and a sad bittersweet smile while taylor swift’s “sad beautiful tragic” plays on some sort of intercom system for life. You won’t exchange words and a hug and remember how he smelled or the way you tried to love him or the way he broke your heart. No. Instead you will see him across a crowded street and before you have time to think or raise your hand in a wave he is gone. And you will never know if he saw you or didn’t see you and couldn’t help but wonder if that’s all you get. Ah, well. There’s a good reason for everything.

well, except this.

todl

2) People can actually mistake me as some random rich newlywed who purchased a fixer upper in northern Michigan. Because that totally happened to T and I the other day. Apparently we look married or at least ready to start a “flip that house” project together.

3) Communication really is everything. I don’t think I have beat this into your brains enough.

outta here

……okay, totally zoning out now. My toddlers ( at my current job in real life, not the ones in tiaras) beat up on me today and I didn’t get much sleep last night because I was trying to pretend I was still a teenager who is on summer break and stayed late at a friend’s house. But no, I’m an adult now.

ugh

2 thoughts on “Life Lessons From Post Grad (my life, not the movie)

  1. I LOVE THIS!! BAHAHA YOU ARE HILAR! You have a way with words my dear! Not to confuse you or encourage a new blog post topic…. but.. maybe you should consider a new career path… Just sayin’

  2. Pingback: Right Outta College | 365 Days of Thank You

Leave a Reply

