Growing Up

I used to be addicted to the phrase “i’ve grown up.”

I was also an over-user of all the variations… “I’ve changed,” “I’ve matured,” “I’m very different now,” “I’ve learned so much,” etc. I liked the idea of change. I also liked separating the person I was “now” from the person I was “then.” I’ve been guilty of doing this to try to distance myself from past wrongdoings, mistakes, or misunderstandings. But the truth is… I hadn’t really learned. I still made the same stupid mistakes over and over again and failed to see the error. I was claiming to have learned something in order to justify my actions to myself or others. The truth was.. I hadn’t grown up yet. And now that I have at matured, at least since high school, I wondered… Do we ever grow up enough to be able to say “I’ve grown up”?

2 thoughts on “Growing Up

  1. I think it all depends on whether or not you’re willing to go past the statements “I’ve changed” “Grown up” etc and actually implement changes actively in your life. Until your actions match the words, then you’re right…it’s all just lip service. 🙂

  2. Interesting thought…. I think everyone whether consciously or unconsciously finds ways to justify actions, beliefs, mistakes, etc. I do not think anyone can say “I have grown up”. I think there is always growth. One might say the phrase in the context of saying “I have grown up since then” which is completely valid. I do not think someone can say ” I am all grown up!” Which implies there is no more growing to do.

    Kail, I think you just need to match your words to your actions and that is where you will find peace. I do not know exactly what you are talking about; what mistakes and such you are referring but I think every experience is the building block of who we are. Positive or negative experiences build our foundation. We are constantly adding to the foundation. I believe everything can be used in a positive way. Falling upwards.

    I think I have “changed” but more in the way I think and how I choose to behave. I think I am maturing and growing all the time because I chose to learn from life and not be mad at it or think life owes me something. We can either chose to grow and challenge ourselves or we can continue to do what we have always done and thought and growth won’t be as substantial.

    Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.
    Mahatma Gandhi

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

